Workshop 1010: The Maths of Biology 8-12 October

This workshop is sponsored by the Simons Foundation.

This conference has the goal to commemorate the year of Mathematical Biology 2018. The idea of this special year was born four years ago as a joint effort of the European Mathematical Society (EMS) and the European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology (ESMTB) and is arriving to an end with this thematic program at the Institute Mittag-Leffler.

In the week, October 8th to 12th, we have decided to showcase some of the most active areas of research internationally in Mathematical Biology. Each day will be devoted to one particular research topic: morphogenesis, the spread of disease, collective behavior and clinical applications. The first official day of Mathematical Biology will be launched with a special series of public talks on the 10/10 at the Swedish Royal Society of Science.

Our logo of the year of Mathematical Biology reminds us about the different processes of differentiation, collective motion and morphogenesis leading to our 10 fingers in arms and legs that in turn led to the decimal system. Let us celebrate the huge increase and importance of applications of mathematics to biology and life sciences and let us open our minds to embrace the new challenges for Maths in Biology ahead.

Schedule updated per 5 October. Click on the image for a larger version of the schedule.

The organizers of the conference:

Jose A. Carrillo
Mats Gyllenberg
Torbjorn Lundh
Philip Maini
Roeland Merks
Santiago Schnell

Confirmed speakers

Andrew Adamatzky (UWE Bristol)
Arturo Araujo (Braintree)
Frank Ball (University of Nottingham)
Michael Bonsall (University of Oxford)
Tom Britton (Stockholm University)
​Carlos Castillo-Chavez (Arizona State University)
Max Ortiz Catalan (University of Gothenburg/Chalmers)
Odo Diekmann (Utrecht University)
Maria-Rita D'Orsogna (California State University, Northridge)
Raluca Eftimie (University of Dundee)
Philip Gerlee (University of Gothenburg/Chalmers)
James Glazier (Indiana University Bloomington)
Julia Gog (University of Cambridge)
Sophie Hecht (Imperial College London)
Charlotte Hemelrijk (University of Groningen)
Dagmar Iber (ETH Zürich)
Shigeru Kondo (Osaka University)
Torbjörn Lundh (University of Gothenburg/Chalmers)
Qing Nie (University of California, Irvine)
​Markus Schmidtchen (Imperial College London)
Santiago Schnell (University of Michigan)
Jacob G. Scott (Cleveland Clinic)
Samuli Siltanen (University of Helsinki)
David Sumpter (Uppsala University)
Pieter Trapman (Stockholm University)
​Alexandria Volkening (Mathematical Biosciences Institute​, The Ohio State University)