27th Nordic Congress of Mathematicians, 16-20 March

Celebrating 100th anniversary of Institut Mittag-Leffler

This Congress is of special significance, since it will celebrate the 100th anniversary of Institut Mittag-Leffler. The Institute was founded on the 16th of March 1916 by Professor Gösta Mittag-Leffler and his wife Signe, who donated their magnificent villa with its first-class library, for the purpose of creating the Institute that bears their name. It is the oldest Mathematics Research Institute in the world. Besides running scientific programmes and conferences the Institute is responsible for publishing two research journals, Acta Mathematica and Arkiv för Matematik. Acta Mathematica was founded by Gösta Mittag-Leffler in 1882 and is one of the most prestigious mathematics research journals in the world.

The first half day of the Congress, March 16, will be devoted to the history of the Institute, followed by scientific talks until March 20. Lennart Carleson, to whom we are all indebted for giving the Institute a second lease of life, will be the honorary President of the Congress.

The Congress will take place in Aula Magna, Stockholm University.

Congress schedule for download (Updated March 18!)

History day speakers:

Arild Stubhaug
June Barrow-Green
Jan-Erik Björk

Plenary speakers:

Luis A. Caffarelli (Austin)
Gunnar Carlsson (Stanford)
Snorre H. Christiansen (Oslo)
Tobias Holck Colding (MIT)
William Fulton (Michigan)
Sara van de Geer (Zürich)    
Tuomas Hytönen (Helsinki)
László Lovász (Budapest)
Gestur Olafsson (Louisiana)
Benoit Perthame (Paris)
Sorin Popa (UCLA)
Peter Sarnak (Princeton)
Karl Sigmund (Vienna)
Stanislav Smirnov (Geneve)
Anna-Karin Tornberg (Stockholm)
Cédric Villani (Paris)
Shing-Tung Yau (Harvard).

If you have any questions please contact Pavel Kurasov at kurasov@math.su.se or/and Ari Laptev laptev@mittag-leffler.se

The congress is supported by: Institut Mittag-Leffler, The Research Council of Norway, The Swedish Research Council, The Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability, Stockholm University, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Uppsala University, European Mathematical Society, Wallenberg Foundation, Granholm Foundation